Gerhard Richter – Panorama (II)

Yesterday I went to visit the so-much-talked-about Gerhard Richter exhibition at Centre Pompidou: PANORAMA. It’s the third part of an exhibition that travelled already at Tate Modern London and the Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, taking on each time a different stage.

Although, I thought to have seen quite an extensive part of Gerhard Richter works, I really enjoyed to see a very didactic and indeed panoramic exhibition of M. Richter’s oeuvre. The rooms are organised chronologically and thematically. The scenography presents an interesting triangular room in the middle, a promontory room inspired by 19th century panorama. I was also glad to be able to see again the John Cage series, who inspired him the famous: I have nothing to say and I say it illustrating Richter’s prolific and varied oeuvre. But the reason why I appreciated so much to see this exhibition is that it is a statement that painting is not dead, Gerhard Richter worked all his life to defend painting as a medium by re-inventing it constantly and transforming thereby the history of art.

Instead of images I prefer to leave you with the last quote of the exhibition. “Room 10: continuing to paint”:

 

“A lot of people find other media more attractive – put a screen in a museum and nobody wants to look at the painting anymore. But painting is my profession, because it has always been the thing that interested me most. And now I’m of a certain age, I come from a different tradition and, in any case, I can’t do anything else. I’m still very sure that painting is one of the most basic human capacities, like dancing and singing, that make sense, that stay with us, as something human”.

 

Liv Vaisberg

 

Centre Pompidou, Paris

Until 24 September 2012

Daily except Tuesday

 

Leave a Reply

